23
Oct
08

7 years ago today….

I asked my now husband Kenny if he would be my boyfriend. It was Junior year in the history hall, standing outside of Mr. Strachan’s class. The story or novel, whichever you prefer…

I was new to the school and only knew one person, Melanie. She was very excited that I was transfering since we hadn’t gone to school together since the 5th grade, so she was talking about me to her friends. Kenny was one of these friends. When she told him that her best friend Jade was moving into town he was VERY intrigued (backround: when he was younger he wanted to marry a girl named Jade because of mortal Kombat, but with long blonde hair and some other “certain features” ;-)) So she showed him a picture and he was “hooked”. Of course on my first day I already knew all about this guy Kenny, who had all but claimed me for his own. He was so sweet, braces and all, except he had the most gorgeous body, pretty much the buffest guy at the school. He carried my books, hung out with me everyday at lunch because Melanie left when lunch started. But I wasn’t having it, sure I liked him but I was new I didn’t know anyone yet and didn’t want to date someone I didn’t know anything about. So the homecoming dance came around, and he was my date. He basically confesses his love and I SHOT HIM DOWN! I still feel bad about that actually, what was I thinking. He was SO bummed, who can blame him. Well he told me that he would wait for me to be ready, as long as it took. So one day it hit me, what in the world was I waiting for? So I stopped him on the way into our history class and asked him if his offer still stood. It did and that was the start of a beautiful thing. Well almost, let’s face it we were sixteen years old. Of course at sixteen we thought we knew everything and everyone thinks they’re high school sweetheart will marry them and live happily ever after. We broke up three weeks later, on his birthday actually. Haha This was basically our relationship for 3 years or so; three months on two months off, 4 months on, 5 months off….. Of course “off” meant still seeing each other or talking almost everyday. The longest we were “apart” was 8 months, actually that was probably the scariest time for us, we were partying a lot and messing around with people, for a little while there I thought that was the end of it.

Little by little our lives began to fall apart, but we were so absorbed in our destructive lifestyle and had too much pride to admit we weren’t doing things right. Eventually we ended up with nothing but a few clothes, some furniture in storage and a car that was being hunted by the repo truck. We slept on his mom’s couch in her one bedroom apartment, when we could. We literally had nothing. No money, nothing to do, nothing to look forward to, just each other. We were a mess, we had no trust or respect for each other, we had put each other through such painful times and neither one of us would let the other live it down. I wanted to believe that we could work things out, that we could fix everything, we just couldn’t seem to do it ourselves.

One day, Kenny’s brother told us to come check out this bible study he went too. We had done the youthgroup thing in high school and knew about God. We “believed” in God but did we really believe in him? Or were we just claiming to, almost out of fear of saying we didn’t, or thinking “well we don’t NOT believe in him.” I for one thought that if God did exist that he would be powerful, miraculous, and that I would be able to feel him, really feel him. Churches, a lot of the time, fail to portray the true power that God has. I guess you could say I was waiting, for something powerful, spiritual and REAL…

So Kenny decided to go check out this bible study and he came home with this amazing glow about him, smiling and uplifted. He started to tell me about the experience and told me that he wanted to change everything in his life and follow God. Mind you Kenny was a SUPER popular guy, was the life of the party, threw most of the parties, super handsome, pretty much every girl he met wanted to date him. He had quite a bit going for him as far as O.C. standards go. I knew that whatever he experienced must be big. He told me that he asked for advice about our relationship. Told them he didn’t know what to do about the girlfriend he had off and on for 4 years, that our relationship was a mess. They told him that he should bring me the next week. So I went, and it was everything I had needed. It literally changed my life forever. It wasn’t at a church. It was at an office of one of the guys in the group. It was just a bunch of people who wanted to know God for real. I ended sharing my whole story(which is not short) and crying with someone I had never even met. We prayed together and it was amazing. I don’t think I’ll ever fully be able to explain what I experienced in that room that night, but I know that it was real, and powerful, and spiritual. And that God had been preparing us, our whole lives for that one moment. 

Everything I knew about life had just changed. By the end of the night, Kenny looked over at me and asked me to marry him. I said yes, of course. You might be thinking, as most people did at the time. How can you just marry him after everything you put each other through? How can you trust him again? All we knew was that we had been living wrong our whole lives and now that God was back in our lives, we never wanted to wrong him again. I knew that Kenny felt the same way, that he looked at me as a gift that he wanted to treasure for his whole life. We never looked back from that point on, we stopped drinking, smoking, partying, Kenny even slept on the floor till the big day. We knew what we had to do and it was all layed out before us. Within a year we had an apartment, great jobs and almost no debt.

So here we are seven years to the day that this whole ride started. I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I love you Kenny, my amazing husband, and my precious gift.

 

4 Responses to “7 years ago today….”


  1. 1 Jade
    October 24, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Wow… You are a beautiful woman. I knew you could write, but that was amazing. That is how I know you love me… I am glad you stuck with me through some of that stuff, I know I was a goof. I will stick by you through anything that we undergo, thats fer’ damn sure. I love you Jade, I have a glass of wine and a foot rub waiting for you when you get here!

  2. 2 Jade
    October 24, 2008 at 12:14 am

    This is Kenny commenting…

  3. 3 Jade
    October 24, 2008 at 12:14 am

    …Logged in on her thing, sorry for the mix up…

  4. 4 Jade
    October 24, 2008 at 12:15 am

    …Have a good day..


Leave a Reply

Contact me!

JadeGreenEyesBlog@yahoo.com

Follow me on Bloglovin


Follow JadeGreenEyes

Follow me on Twitter



Recent Tweets on Twitter

stop the world water crisis

Do what you can, visit WINE TO WATER to see how you can help, and have some fun doing it. Bring clean water to Darfur, Uganda, Cambodia, India... the list goes on...

Favorite Recipe Blogs

Favorite Funny Blogs

October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

